Tags

, , , ,

I love creating stories. I get lost in written words on paper, and would love to say that I express myself well through colourful brushtrokes on canvas but painting is definitely not my greatest forte (and I’ll be the first to admit it). Over the last few years I have unknowingly been part of creating stories through a different medium – photography. I say ‘unknowingly’ because although I have been doing different projects for some time now, it’s not something I ever recognised to share with an audience other than those on my personal Facebook. Seeing each project as a tale in its own right has only been a recent expression.

I adore, admire and envy photographers – the few times I borrowed a top-quality digital camera proved to me that there is a lot of technical knowledge required to capture a truly beautiful shot. I make do with my little point-and-shoot camera for animal work, but to possess that technical understanding and actually be able to put it into practice to produce a work of art would be incredible! But, I’ll leave that up to the real photographers.


There are old legends that tell of feminine sea-nymphs – mermaids, sirens, Nereids… all manner of beautiful creatures dwelling in the ocean or within watery elements. Some serve as watch-women of the sailors, ensuring they have safe passage across the seas. Some others take pleasure in luring these sailors to their doom. These nymphs are strewn throughout art and ancient tales – powerful, mystical creatures; sometimes symbols of hope and motherly care, sometimes depictions of dangerous beauty.

A few weeks ago, with the weather warming up in New Zealand, a photographer I know took to the beach with camera, assistants and this wild girl in tow to bring a sea-nymph to life. What was created was a seemingly tranquil creature – a lonely sun-basker, delicate and careful. We picked her home to be the entrance of a cave where light still bleeds into the darkness. She appears watchful, wary and serene. But is she protector, or hunter?

I hope you enjoy these images as much as we enjoyed shooting them :)


 

Sea-nymph mermaid photography wallpaper Samantha Boston wildatheart Blameitonmywildheartblog


Sea-nymph mermaid photography wallpaper Samantha Boston wildatheart Blameitonmywildheartblog


Sea-nymph mermaid photography wallpaper Samantha Boston wildatheart Blameitonmywildheartblog


Sea-nymph mermaid photography wallpaper Samantha Boston wildatheart Blameitonmywildheartblog


Sea-nymph mermaid photography wallpaper Samantha Boston wildatheart Blameitonmywildheartblog


Sea-nymph mermaid photography wallpaper Samantha Boston wildatheart Blameitonmywildheartblog


Sea-nymph mermaid photography wallpaper Samantha Boston wildatheart Blameitonmywildheartblog makeup face

Sam.

Please note that these images have been edited by myself. You can view images edited by the photographer on his website below.

Photography: Graham Meadows at Graham Meadows Photography
Makeup and air-brushing: Jessica Seo at Jessica Seo Makeup Artistry

