Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This year is going so quickly. Is anyone else finding this same phenomenon? Although, to be fair, I always find myself thinking this. I absolutely can’t wait to get over to Thailand to start work at the sanctuary. On the surface I do find myself feeling more nervous and even stressed when I realise how much I have to do before I leave, but underneath that is the bursting joy at knowing I am heading to do something good.

I had left family members with a way to donate to the journey if they so wished, but had not made any real efforts to fundraise. Last night one of my dearest friends set up a page on a website for me that allows for public donations (you can find it at http://www.givealittle.co.nz/cause/blameitonmywildheart), and all of a sudden more messages of support from friends and even some strangers have come through to me. It is almost overwhelming knowing so many people are supporting my venture, through messages, other contact and even contribution. I am grateful to each and every one of you, and I know the elephants and everyone involved in the Thai sanctuary is appreciative, too.
For those who are interested, the dear friend who set this donations page up for me – her name is Lisa – actually has her own running. Like me, she is a passionate environmentalist and is currently studying a degree in marine biology. Now, I don’t know how many of you out there have tried the full-time student life, but it isn’t easy. Lisa is traveling to Papua New Guinea in June to study their coral reefs. Reefs are ‘out of sight, out of mind’ for a lot of people, but these diverse ecosystems are suffering heavily from environmental change such as our own pollution. If you would like to help Lisa get to Papua New Guinea so she may study their coral reefs, you can head to http://www.givealittle.co.nz/cause/coralreef and find out more about her Cause.

It feels a fairly empty house tonight. Greywind and Jasmine are both here, but the three youngest kittens are – dare I say it – at the veterinary clinic for the night before having their desexing procedures in the morning. I did not mention it here, but a few weeks ago when I took them for their first vaccinations, I discovered that Doug and Indiana Jones are actually females!! Funnily enough, I just trusted their previous foster homes and didn’t even bother to check their sexes. Well, I learnt my lesson there! So now Dot and Indi are referred to as ‘she’ and ‘her’ as they ought to be! Sorry, girls!!

Once Price Caspian, Dot and Indi are microchipped, they will be 100% ready for new homes. I have yet to rehome Grey and Jasmine – I am certain the three youngest will find forever homes before I head to Thailand (this would be so much nicer than having to pass them to yet another foster home). If Grey or Jazzy are still in my care when I leave for Thailand, I am lucky in that I have someone here who will also look after them. The longer Grey is with us, though, the more I fall in love with her. I wouldn’t say she is absolutely attached to me (she can be quite an independent girl), but she certainly trusts me above all others. She will curl right up against me when she can, and still gives me those utterly contented, “I feel safe and comfortable” eyes. It is hard to picture her with anyone else. That doesn’t mean to say I don’t want someone to come along who is absolutely perfect for her. That would be a dream. Until that time, though, she gets all the love and attention possible. She has proven to be incredible with the younger kittens – Jasmine adores her, and will bunt her head and face against Greywind. Jasmine, being so shy and often a little skittish, really relaxes in Grey’s presence. Grey would rather hang out with humans, but she does let Jas cuddle up to her.

I’ll end this post with a few Easter kitten photos (the box is from Cadbury, whose palm oil formulas I do not support, but any boxes I find usually go to the foster cats) and try not to go to bed thinking about the massive list of errands I need to sort over the next few weeks!!

Sam.

Dot (aptly named - white dot on her tail!) makes it difficult to get anything done.

Dot (aptly named – white dot on her tail!) makes it difficult to get anything done.

Caspian

Caspian

Indi and Cass checking out a box

Indi and Cass checking out a box

Jasmine taking a peek

Jasmine taking a peek

Unfortunately, Grey didn't realise she's getting a bit too big...

Unfortunately, Grey didn’t realise she’s getting a bit too big…

...until it was too late

…until it was too late

