Tags

, , ,

Well, I have been completely inattentive to blogging the last little while, as some have noticed. Various things have contributed to this; getting settled into a new job, moving house (how I truly hope I that doesn’t have to happen again for a while!), and, most annoyingly, my little point-and-shoot camera deciding only a couple of weeks after purchase that it wouldn’t do its job. Things are back on track now though, and while I’m working on a wolf-related post I thought I would update everyone on the kitten escapades.

The last time I posted about my foster kittens was when I rehomed Felix last month. Since then Greywind has, shall we say, acquired a few extra friends. Yes, okay, okay, I admit it; it only took a day for the new landlord to give me the a-okay on kitten fostering and I had four new fluffballs running around inside. It was extremely bitter sweet. Greywind had absolutely loved her littermates, and play time was just the best thing ever. She had seemed quite lonely after Felix was rehomed (even though there was another resident cat at the last place we were staying, but he was definitely not fond of Greywind so she had to stay out of his way!), so I thought she would love to have new friends. But I was so wrong! When I introduced them for the first time the newbies were more than willing to build a swift friendship, but Greywind wouldn’t have a bar of it and simply hissed and spit at them.

Wary first meetings

Wary first meetings

I think a big factor in this was that previous resident cat had very often tried to attack Greywind, and she possibly expected these new little strangers to do the same. Although I knew deep down it would take some time, space and patience, I had wanted everyone to be happy with things right away. I really felt guilty about Greywind and made sure she continued to get quality time without smaller kittens tearing around; in Felix’s absence she had really become a big fan of her human family and I didn’t want her to feel as though she was being pushed out.

Thankfully, it only took another day or so for her to accept that most of the kittens weren’t a threat. Yummy food was a catalyst in this of course, and I was so excited when they shared their first meal together.

First meal together

First meal together

Little Grey

Little Grey

Isn’t Grey looking gorgeous? She has grown into such a beautiful young lady. I keep saying she is so mature for her age, too! Although, the kittens have definitely brought out the extremely playful side in her again, which is awesome to see. I am quite sad she hasn’t found a home yet, as much as I adore her and have trouble imagining her with someone else. She is still very shy of strangers, but I know it will just take the right person/family to settle her in patiently and with lots of TLC, and she will make such a wonderful companion. I see her as my little buddy; she is so independent during the day but at night loves nothing else but to sleep as close as she can (when she’s not asked to sleep with the other kittens, that is). I’ve had her since last year and sometimes I wonder why there hasn’t been any interest with her, but I’m hoping the right time will come along when it’s meant to.

Let me introduce the new little mischief-makers. They have had two other foster homes before me – I’m not sure what happened with the first, but the last people looking after them went on holiday for several weeks so needed to find somewhere else to place them. They are completely different to how Greywind’s litter was when I first got them. Where Grey’s litter were absolutely feral and unhandleable, these kittens are SO friendly! I don’t know their background, but they certainly aren’t shy. They love any person the second they walk in the door, and are probably over-confident as so many kittens are. There are three boys, about seven weeks old – Indiana Jones, Caspian (mister Prince Caspian) and Doug. The fourth kitten is from a separate litter and is about three months old, but is almost as small as the others. She was the runt of her litter and apparently had quite a rough start. She is extremely shy, but an absolute princess once she gets settled, and we have been calling her Jasmine.

Jasmine

Jasmine

Doug

Doug

Doug

Doug

Indiana Jones

Indiana Jones

Prince Caspian

Prince Caspian

Indiana and Cass

Indiana and Cass

Today Lonely Miaow held an ‘Adoptathon’ at a local community centre, and invited foster homes to bring their kittens along if they were ready for adoption. As Doug, Indie and Cass are too young and haven’t been desexed yet, I took Greywind and Jasmine over with the hopes that one or even both might get adopted. It was a great turn out and a lot of the cats there did get adopted – even a gorgeous big boy about five years old, which is awesome! Jazzy and Grey, however, were just too frightened to be themselves and although they did gain some interest I ended up bringing them home at the end of the day. Though I was hoping their new parents might show up today, I was quite glad to bring them back home to an environment where they are absolutely comfortable. It really was a long day for them and they are probably more suited to prospective parents coming for a home-viewing as opposed to taking them out of their comfort zones.

Today was an absolutely wonderful opportunity to meet other foster ‘mums’ and other Lonely Miaow staff. The staff are absolutely dedicated to the cause and were positive the whole day, meeting and greeting and really helping us realise we are contributing to something positive right here in our local areas. I have huge admiration for every person there today, including those who came to adopt a rescue cat or kitten. I hope more and more people decide to adopt rescue animals the next time they are looking for a pet. It’s one of the most rewarding things you can do, in my opinion!

Sam.

Early days of moving in and getting settled together

Early days of moving in and getting settled together

http://www.lonelymiaow.co.nz

